Childcare Citations Database

29 03 2011 has compiled data going back to 2005 on child care inspection reports, infractions and citations across the state. Users can search by provider name or browse the entire database by visiting


Actions Against Licensed Professionals

25 02 2011

Finding actions taken against licensed professionals in the state of Utah just got a lot easier with’s new database of disciplinary actions. Go to for detailed information on over 100 licensed professions–from physicians to cosmetologists, veterinarians to armed security guards–all searchable by profession type, company, city, or name. The database is updated monthly, as supplied by DOPL. Follow these links for licensing actions taken against real estate professionals and child care providers.
Real Estate:
Child Care:

Review citations for your local childcare provider

19 10 2010

Childcare providers listed in this database average over 5 citations each, with more than 50 providers tallying 20 or more total citations since 2005. The most common rules violated by Utah childcare providers are listed below. To search citations for your local daycare provider, go to

Most common childcare infractions:

After a license or certificate is issued or renewed, within five days of a new covered individual becoming involved with a child care facility, the child care facility licensee or certificate holder must submit the identifying information. A fingerprint card, waiver and fee, prepared either by the local law enforcement agency or an agency approved by local law enforcement, shall also be submitted unless an exception is granted

The adult transporting children shall: ensure that each child being transported is wearing an appropriate individual safety restraint.

Infants and toddlers may be included in mixed age groups only when 8 or fewer children are present at the center.

The provider shall maintain the following records on-site for review by the Department: records for each currently enrolled child, including the following: an admission form containing the following information for each child: (A) name; (B) date of birth; (C) date of enrollment; (D) the parent`s name, address, and phone number, including a daytime phone number; (E) the names of people authorized by the parent to pick up the child; (F) the name, address and phone number of a person to be contacted in the event of an emergency if the provider is unable to contact the parent; (G) the name, address, and phone number of an out of area/state emergency contact person for the child, if available; and (H) current emergency medical treatment and emergency medical transportation releases with the parent`s signature.

All caregivers who provide direct services in a child care center shall be at least 18 years of age or have completed high school or a GED. In addition to the required staff ratios, child care services may be provided by an individual who is 16 years old, if he works under the direct supervision of a caregiver at least 18 years old, who has completed 20 hours of in-service training and meets all licensing requirements.

The provider shall ensure that caregivers provide and maintain direct supervision of all children at all times.

All indoor playground equipment, for example slides and climbers, shall be surrounded by cushioning materials, such as mats, in a six foot fall zone. The cushioning material shall meet the standards of the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), current edition for all equipment over three feet.

Caregivers shall clean and disinfect the diapering surface after each diaper change.

The licensee shall maintain the minimum caregiver to child ratios and group sizes in Table 5 for single age groups of children.

All animals at the facility shall have current immunizations for all vaccine preventable diseases that are transmissible to humans. The center shall have documentation of the vaccinations.